I always end up skipping award shows. I always feel that they are politically driven and that the shows who deserved the awards the most always get neglected. However, last year I decided to watch the Oscars and was pleasantly surprised that the movies which I thought should win, won. The Oscars did have its flaws, for instance, I absolutely didn’t think that Micheal Clayton should have been nominated for Best Picture. Don’t get me wrong, it was a good movie, but it wasn’t Best Picture worthy.

Since my good experience with the Oscars, I’ve decided to see if the Emmy’s will be the same.

The Academy announced their nomination last Thursday morning. Like always you had your big players, former winners, new comers, and surprises.

By the way, there are a whole lot more categories than I expected.

Biggest surprise, The Wire only got one nomination (writing). I’m not going to pretend that I watch the show, because I don’t. But despite my preference to not watch it, the show is actually very well done, I have seen a couple episode. The Wire is definitely better than House, which I do watch, and Boston Legal, who were both nominated for Outstanding Drama Series over The Wire.

For your new comers. Mad Men received 16 nominations, which shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone. But Pushing Daisies received 12 nomination, which surprise even myself. Everyone talks about Mad Men, but no one ever talks about Pushing Daisies, except me. I love the show, I think that it is smart, funny, and different, and I’m glad that it got some recognition. I was actually worried that the show might get canceled after the writer strike. Good news, it’s not.

30 Rocks seems to be the primetime show to beat with 17 nomination. But John Adams seems to be the overall show to beat with 23 nomination. The Mini-series category looks to be stocked with big players.

Here are who I think will win from some of the most notable categories. (winners in Bold)

Outstanding Comedy Series

  • 30 Rock
  • Curb Your Enthusiasm
  • Entourage
  • The Office
  • Two and Half Men

This is a no brainer. I don’t even think Two and Half Men should be nominated.

Outstanding Drama Series

  • Boston Legal
  • Damages
  • Dexter
  • House
  • Lost
  • Mad Men

This one is a little difficult. Like I said, I think The Wire should have a nomination in this category, but even if in, I don’t think they would win. The real competition is from Damage, Dexter, and Mad Men.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Alec Baldwin (30 Rock)
  • Tony Shalhoub (Monk)
  • Lee Pace (Pushing Daisies)
  • Steve Carell (The Office)
  • Charlie Sheen (Two and Half Men)

This is actually a real tough contest between Baldwin, Pace and Carell. Monk just hasn’t been as good to repeat.

Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series

  • James Spader (Boston Legal)
  • Brian Cranston (Breaking Bad)
  • Micheal C. Hall (Dexter)
  • Hugh Laurie (House)
  • Gabriel Byrne (In Treatment)
  • John Hamm (Mad Men)

Anyone could win this category.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Tina Fey (30 Rock)
  • Christina Applegate (Samantha Who?)
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus (The New Adventure of Old Christine)
  • America Ferrera (Ugly Betty)
  • Mary-Louis Parker (Weeds)

I actually don’t watch any of these show except 30 rock, but Tina Fey is awesome, so I don’t see that many votes against her. If there are, then it would be for Julia.

Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series

  • Sally Field (Brothers & Sisters)
  • Glen Close (Damages)
  • Mariska Hargitay (Law & Order – SVU)
  • Holly Hunter (Saving Grace)
  • Kyra Sedgwick (The Closer)

There are a lot of big players in this category. But Glen Close has just been on a tear these past few years.

There are a lot more categories, such as Outstanding Supporting Actor, Actresses, etc. If you want to find out what they are, then go here.

So far it looks like it should be good Emmy. I don’t know if i’ll end up watching it, it seems pretty long, but I’m sure I’ll check out the winners and losers.

