Last time I took a look at NBC’s fall line-up and passed judgement. Since then, I have seen tons of commercials most of said shows during the Olympics. Today we turn our heads towards CBS. I have been a fan of CBS on Monday and Friday nights, but that was about it. I’m hoping they bring in something this season that isn’t some spin-off of CSI again. Come see what I have to say after the jump.

Worst Week: A comedy being put into the Monday night line-up to go along with How I Met Your Mother, Big Bang Theory and Two and a Half Men. A nice successful guy has a great job as a magazine editor and has a bangin’ hot fiancee, and gets into lots of awkward situations whenever her conservative parents are around. I don’t know how much I’ll be interested in watching some poor guy suffer all the time. The Office is fine with awkward situations because Michael puts himself into them, but I don’t want to watch some guy who just has crappy luck and suffers for it. We’ll see, it’s on my maybe list. I mean, I’m watching CBS Mondays anyway.

I use my powers to predict failure

I use my powers to predict failure

The Mentalist: I can sum this show up in two words, Serious Psych. Yes, here we have a former pretend psychic who uses his powers of observation to solve mysteries in an hour. But what’s missing from the mix is comedy. With no jokes, and no James Roday, no Dule Hill or no Maggie Lawson, the best I can say for the show is that is picked a great show to copy. I predict this show failing just like the other rip-offs we’re seeing this fall.

Gary Unmarried: Let me start off by saying that I think Jay Mohr is hilarious. I enjoy his stand up and the guest appearances he makes of TV shows. That being said, I’m looking forward to his new comedy this season, Gary Unmarried. Mohr plays a guy who divorces his wife after 15 years of marriage and moves on with life all while staying close with his kids and ex-wife. I don’t know most of the cast outside of Mohr, but that’s fine. Being that he’s the main character, he should be able to carry a lot of this show on his own. I look forward to it and I hope it sticks around pass mid-season.

The Ex List: I’m not interested in this show really, which doesn’t bother me since it seems to be aimed at the female audience. A happy successful single woman is told by a psychic that she has already dated her future husband and if she doesn’t figure out who it is by next year, she will die alone. So she starts tracking down each of her ex’s. Looking at the premise of the show, I can’t exactly figure out how it lasts beyond one season. She only has a year right? It’s based off of an Israeli series and is the first of two foreign shows CBS is redoing.

Stand back, I'm doing Science!

Stand back, I'm doing Science!

Eleventh Hour: This is the second show CBS is redoing for the states. It’s based off of a British mini-series and seems to be a cop show about science. Abuses of science and science based crimes are investigated by this government science advisor. I love science, so I’ll tune in at least once, but my feelings are still mixed about this show. CBS has but a lot of effort behind Numb3rs and has used mathematical equations that exists and actually do what the show says it does. On the other hand we have CSI, which has it’s grounding in 90% fantasy. They use science to do things they want it to do, not what it can actually do. If they could strike a balance somewhere around what Heroes is, they could have a good show on their hands.

Harper’s Island: Looking to cash in on the growing slasher market, CBS is stretching out a 90 minute slasher film into a 13 episode series. A group of family and friends head to an island off of Seattle for a beautiful wedding. Turns out that the island was also known for a killing spree there 13 years ago, and a new one begins once this group of people arrive. I will be skipping this show just like I have skipped Saw 1 through 735 or whatever it is they’re up to now. I figure a week between episodes will kill off a good amount of the tension that drives these kinds of movies. Even after the most exciting episodes of Lost or Battlestar, you have moved on to something else two or three days later. I hope these people have a special episode six filmed to wrap up the show when it’s canned mid-season.

So what do you guys think? Looking forward to anything in particular, something you wish got picked up but didn’t? Let me know, and next time we’ll sneak a peek at what ABC will be adding to an already strong line-up.

