From Ubisoft

Lately, everyone seems to be talking about video games.  I use to play, but with money being so tight, I stop buying them and stopped playing them.  I don’t even have a new generation console (360, PS3, Wii).  With all these talks and with the holiday game library coming out, I’m starting to miss playing games.  So I’ve been considering getting updated and getting a new system.  But first, I’ve decided that I would play games for my current console (PS2) which I haven’t played yet and see if I can get back into the flow of playing video games.

With a movie coming out soon, I decided that I would start playing the Prince of Persia series.  I’ve always wanted to play them, but wasn’t willing to pay for them and the original Prince of Persia was one of the very first game I’ve ever played. So I’m a fan.  The bonus, I got the games at a fraction of the original cost.

So ok, I’m a bit late with this review.

The Prince and his dad are on their way to Azad. On route there, with the help of Vizier, a foreigners, they conquer and loot a city called Maharajah for honor and glory.  Part of Maharajah mysterious artifact includes the hourglass and dagger of time.  In Azad, Vizier tricks the prince into releasing the sand trapped inside the hourglass.  The sand washes over the entire kingdom turning everyone into monsters.  The prince must now rectify his mistake and find the hourglass which was taken by Vizier.

Sands of Time has a good story.  it isn’t anything spectacular, but it progresses the gameplay well.  The Prince story is told with nice full-blown video clips and witty in-game dialogue.  The Prince even talks to himself and even talks about talking to himself, which makes it pretty amusing.  This method of story telling works well, because it doesn’t break away from the action, plus hearing the story comes straight from the characters mouth makes him more likable.

The gameplay is wonderful.  You’ll move, jump, swing, attack all in one fluid motion.  You’ll encounter challenging environmental puzzles, deadly traps, brutal swordplay and astonishing acrobatics, all while you travel throughout the entire palace , which is huge, in search for the hourglass.  And you’ll enjoy every minute of it.

One draw back.  By the time I got through 70% of the game, I felt that I was pretty much doing the same thing, every level has a obstacles that you must pass, by jumping, running on walls, or swinging, and by this time, I felt that it was all I was doing.  Plus the lack of bosses was really downer.

Prince of Persia The Sands of Time get a 8.5 out of 10.

